Six PAP Central Exco members step down

The People's Action Party (PAP) Central Executive Committee (CEC) has accepted the resignation of six members who had proposed to step down to facilitate leadership renewal in the party.

They are Mr Lee Kuan Yew, Mr Goh Chok Tong, Mr Lim Boon Heng, Mr Wong Kan Seng, Mr George Yeo and Mrs Lim Hwee Hua.

The CEC has also decided to confer upon Mr Lee and Mr Goh the title of Honorary Past Secretary-General, in recognition of their outstanding service and seminal contributions to the PAP and Singapore.

The new members to fill these six vacancies will be chosen through a poll of PAP branch chairmen and cadres representing PAP branches, district committees, the Women's Wing and Young PAP.

The selection is expected to be completed by next month's party convention.

For more my paper stories click here.