382 state secrets designated by Japan govt bodies

382 state secrets designated by Japan govt bodies

The government announced Friday that ministries, agencies and other administrative organisations have designated a total of 382 state secrets as of the end of last year under the law on the protection of specially designated state secrets that came into effect on Dec. 10.

It is the first time that the government has disclosed details related to the designation of state secrets.

The Defence Ministry designated 247 secrets, the most among government bodies. The Cabinet Secretariat came second with 49 secrets, followed by the Foreign Ministry with 35 and the National Police Agency with 18.

In all, 19 administrative organisations including the Defence Ministry, the National Security Council and the Nuclear Regulation Authority, are authorised to designate information concerning four fields - defence, diplomacy, anti-espionage and antiterrorism measures - as state secrets in 55 categories.

The 382 designated secrets were counted based on the categories. About 400,000 documents were affected.

A total of 247 secrets were designated in the field of defence, 113 in diplomacy, 18 in anti-espionage and four in antiterrorism measures.

The Defence Ministry applied the state secret designation to its "defence secrets," which had been managed under the Self-Defence Forces Law. Of the 247 secrets designated by the ministry, 85, the most among them, are related to secret codes, followed by 57 that are related to weapons and ammunition performance.

The 49 secrets designated by the Cabinet Secretariat include 21 related to intelligence. The Foreign Ministry's 35 secrets also include 11 related to intelligence. The 18 secrets designated by the NPA are related to information concerning anti-espionage and antiterrorism measures such as images taken by information-gathering satellites.

No state secrets were designated by nine organisations - the Health, Labor, Welfare Ministry, the Finance Ministry, the Financial Services Agency, the Fire and Disaster Management Agency, the National Public Safety Commission, the Public Security Examination Commission, the Natural Resources and Energy Agency, the Nuclear Regulation Authority and the Cabinet Office.

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.