Japanese winners of Nobel Prizes

Japanese winners of Nobel Prizes
A combo shows (LtoR) undated photos Japanese-born researchers Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and a handout photo of Shuji Nakamura released by University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB), who won the 2014 Nobel Physics Prize for inventing the blue light-emitting diode (LED), the Nobel Committee for Physics announced on October 6, 2014 in Stockholm.

TOKYO - Isamu Akasaki and Hiroshi Amano of Japan and Japanese-born US citizen Shuji Nakamura won the 2014 Nobel Prize for Physics on Tuesday for inventing a new energy-efficient and environment-friendly light source.

Here is a list of previous Japanese-born Nobel laureates.

PHYSICS: 1949 - Hideki Yukawa - for his prediction of the existence of mesons - subatomic particles intermediate in mass between electron and proton.

1965 - Shinichiro Tomonaga - for fundamental work in quantum electrodynamics.

1973 - Leo Esaki - for discoveries on tunneling phenomena in semiconductors and superconductors.

2002 - Masatoshi Koshiba - for pioneering contributions to astrophysics.

2008 - Yoichiro Nambu, Makoto Kobayashi, Toshihide Maskawa - for insights providing deeper understanding of what happens in the tiniest building blocks of matter.

CHEMISTRY: 1981 - Kenichi Fukui - for theories on the course of chemical reactions.

2000 - Hideki Shirakawa - for discovery and development of conductive polymers - a plastic that conducts electricity like a metal.

2001 - Ryoji Noyori - for work on chirally catalysed hydrogenation reactions.

2002 - Koichi Tanaka - for development of a method that helps identify the amount and type of chemicals present in a sample of biological macromolecules.

2008 - Osamu Shimomura - for discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein.

2010 - Akira Suzuki - for inventing new ways to bind carbon atoms.

MEDICINE: 1987 - Susumu Tonegawa - for discovery of genetic principle for generation of antibody diversity.

2012 - Shinya Yamanaka - for discovery that adult cells can be transformed back into embryo-like stem cells that may one day regrow tissue in damaged organs.

LITERATURE: 1968 - Yasunari Kawabata 1994 - Kenzaburo Oe PEACE: 1974 - Eisaku Sato - Signed the nuclear arms Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1970.

More about

nobel prize
Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.