New S Korean Prime Minister named

New S Korean Prime Minister named
South Korean President Park Geun-Hye speaks during her New Year news conference at the presidential Blue House in Seoul January 12, 2015.

President Park Geun-hye has nominated the ruling Saenuri Party's floor leader Rep.

Lee Wan-koo as new prime minister as part of her Cabinet shake-up, Cheong Wa Dae said Friday.

Lee will replace Chung Hong-won as soon as parliamentary approval is granted.

"President Park Geun-hye accepted Chung's resignation as he offered to resign several times and nominated Rep.

Lee as new prime minister," said Yoon Doo-hyun, senior presidential secretary for press.

Earlier this week, Park said she would carry out a "small-scale" Cabinet reshuffle and partially reorganise the presidential office as she seeks to regain public confidence to push ahead with her economic reform drive.

According to a local pollster, her job rating plunged to 35 per cent last week, the lowest level since she entered office in early 2013.

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.