PSA: Instagram notifies your friend when you screenshot their DMs

PSA: Instagram notifies your friend when you screenshot their DMs
PHOTO: Mashable

Instagram's latest Snapchat plagiarism update lets you send self-destructing messages to your friends - an excellent feature for sexy time. Just know that your friend will be notified if you take a screenshot of their message.

Buzzfeed remarked Friday that people are "freaking out" over the notifications, which work exactly as you'd expect them to. If you send a "disappearing message" to a friend and they take a screenshot, you'll get a message on your phone saying so - just like you would on Snapchat.

Note that the notifications are only for the new disappearing message feature, which, if you're anything like me, you probably can't figure out how to use anyway.

Instagram's latest Snapchat plagiarism update lets you send self-destructing messages to your friends - an excellent feature for sexy time. Just know that your friend will be notified if you take a screenshot of their message.

Instagram has a weird, dual-identity thing going on right now: When you open the app, you see the feed you're accustomed to, with the standard buttons for snapping pictures of babies and brunches, but you can also swipe over to a new window that lets you send ephemeral messages. Literally swipe from the left to the right of your screen to get to the new window, which looks like this (kitten not included):

Photo: Damon Beres/Mashable

Snap your picture or Boomerang and you'll have the option to send it directly to individual friends. After they view it, it'll delete itself.

Don't worry, though: There is a recent Instagram screenshot feature that's legitimately kind of creepy. Take a screenshot of your feed and Instagram will pop a new window down saying "You can share this post with your friends."

Photo: Damon Beres/Mashable

Essentially, the app understands that you've taken a screenshot of an image, presumably to send to someone or post online, and it'll offer a few ways to officially share the image if you tap the button.

Photo: Damon Beres/Mashable

You do you, but all we gotta say is: best not be sharing our beautiful turkey pictures on your Facebook. That's just creepy.


Mashable is the go-to source for tech, digital culture, and entertainment content for its dedicated and influential audience around the world.

More about

Instagram
Purchase this article for republication.

SHOPPING

BRANDINSIDER

SPONSORED

Most Read

Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.