6 politicians among 16 barred from taking part in Sabah May 1 rally

6 politicians among 16 barred from taking part in Sabah May 1 rally
A huge crowd walking to the outskirts of Dataran Merdeka in Kuala Lumpur on 28 April 2012 for the Bersih 3.0 rally.

KOTA KINABALU - Six politicians are among 16 people who have been barred by city police from taking part in any way in the scheduled May 1 Bersih rally in the city.

The six are Kota Kinabalu MP Jimmy Wong Txe Phin (DAP), Kapayan assemblyman Dr Edwin Bosi (DAP), Penampang MP Darell Leiking (PKR), Tamparuli assemblyman Datuk Seri Wilfred Bumburing (PKR), Bingkor assemblyman Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan (STAR), ex-senator Datuk Maijol Mahap (STAR).

The others who are barred from participating are activists Tan Sri Simon Sipaun and Jannie Lasimbang as well as Daniel John Jambun, Kanul Gindol, Wilfred Gaban, Ann Lasimbang, S.M Muthu, Andrew Ambrose Mudi, Hariey Karmin and Mohd Khairuddin Daud.

The notices were pasted on makeshift signboards around Padang Merdeka, Taman Chong Tien Vun, City Park, Segama waterfront and Dataran Badaraya in the state capital.

The organisers of the May Day rally are insisting on staging the protest to highlight issues such as illegal immigrant and Sabah land rights.

Police obtained a court order on Monday, banning the organisers from staging any gathering connected with the rally.

Spokesperson Jannie Lasimbang said organisers have yet to receive the court but were trying to obtain the summons number to file a challenge.

More about

malaysian politics
Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.