EC throws out Johor election petitions

EC throws out Johor election petitions

JOHOR BARU - The Election Court dismissed election petitions to annul the results for the Ledang and Pasir Gudang parliamentary seats and the state seats of Nusajaya and Gambir, filed by the Opposition.

The petitions for the parliamentary seats were filed by PKR while PAS filed for the state seats.

High Court judge Datuk Hasnah Mohd Hashim allowed Barisan Nasional to keep the seats after finding that the petitioners had failed to follow several regulations under the Election Offences Act 1954.

She said among the reasons for disallowing the claims were that the petitioners had failed to file complete petitions and that the petitions were filed by the candidates' agents and not the candidates themselves.

Hasnah ordered each of the petitioners to pay RM30,000 (S$12,000) to Ledang MP Datuk Hamim Samuri and Pasir Gudang MP Normala Abd Samad as well as to both the returning officers of the polls and the Elections Commission (EC).

Hasnah also ordered the petitioners from PAS to pay costs of RM25,000 each to the EC, Nusajaya assemblyman Dr Zaini Abu Bakar and Gambir assemblyman M. Asojan as well as each of the area's returning officers.

Syed Faizal Syed Abdullah and Mohd Reza Abu Hassan represented the Barisan candidates while PAS and PKR were represented by Muhammad Yazid Mohamad Salim and Rohana Ramli.

S. Narkunavathy represented the returning officers and the EC.

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.