FAA updates no-fly and high-risk zones

FAA updates no-fly and high-risk zones
The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has halted all flights from the US to Tel Aviv, Israel following a rocket attack near Ben Gurion International Airport.

PETALING JAYA - In the wake of the MH17 shootdown, the US Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has released its latest list of no-fly and high-risk zones for US airlines.

According to the NOTAMS (Notices to Airmen), the six no-fly zones are Ethiopia, Iraq, Libya, North Korea, Somalia and Ukraine, while the eight high-risk zones are Afghanistan, Congo, Egypt (Sinai Peninsula), Iran, Kenya, Mali, Syria and Yemen.

The areas are mostly those stricken by political unrest.

On Wednesday, the FAA removed Israel from its no-fly zone list, with United Airlines and Delta Air Lines resuming flights to Ben Gurion International Airport in Tel Aviv the following day.

The ban was initiated after a rocket fell within a mile of the airport on Tuesday.

Since the downing of the Malaysia Airlines plane in the Donetsk region in eastern Ukraine on July 17, the FAA has banned US flights from using that airspace.

Ukrainian authorities also announced the closure of all air routes through eastern Ukraine.

FAA's advisories are voluntarily followed by the airlines.

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.