Fight for MCA division chief’s posts

Fight for MCA division chief’s posts

KUALA LUMPUR - The MCA divisional elections will see several national-level leaders being challenged for the division chief's post.

As nominations closed yesterday, MCA secretary-general Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha and central committee members Datuk Lee Chee Leong and Datuk Tan Chin Meng are three who will have to defend their seats.

MCA vice-president Gan Ping Sieu will have to defend his Kluang division chief's post as Chye Kwee Yeow is challenging him.

MCA president Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek will not be defending his in Batu Pahat. He is succeeded by Kang Beng Kuan, who won the post uncontested.

MCA vice-president Datuk Donald Lim also retained his PJ Selatan division post uncontested.

MCA Youth chief Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong also was returned unopposed for the Johor Baru division chief's post.

Kong, the incumbent Lumut division chief, will be challenged by Ding Siew Chee, the division's Youth leader.

Incumbent Kampar division chief Lee will be challenged by Yee Chun Sheng, a branch chairman.

Incumbent Ipoh Barat division chairman Tan will have to defend his seat from Lee Yook Tin, a branch chairman.

The Labis MCA division chief's post will see Labis MP Datuk Chua Tee Yong locking horns with Lim Cham Kok after incumbent Tan Kok Hong did not wish to seek re-election.

In Pontian, division chief Datuk Tee Siew Kiong retained his post uncontested.

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.