Malaysian Indian Congress polls 2013: Results

Malaysian Indian Congress polls 2013: Results

KUALA LUMPUR - Health Minister Datuk Seri Dr S. Subramaniam returns unopposed as MIC deputy president. The party's vice president post sees an eight-cornered fight.

Mohana Muniandy and C. Sivarraajh have been declared the new MIC wings chiefs after garnering 344 and 278 votes respectively during the party's election which ended at night at Sunway Putra Hotel. The results were officially announced 6.40pm and 8.30 pm respectively.

Mohana's political rival, M. Vickneswari, only managed to secure 166 votes, while Sivarraajh's challenger Mugilan only received 234 votes.

Sivarraajh's running mate R. Thinalan who is also the wing's legal bureau head, won the post of deputy chief against K. Sashi from Mugilan's camp.

The Wanita deputy post was won by Perak MIC deputy leader P. Prema with 354 votes, defeating MIC Pagoh division chief K. Nirmala who received 159 votes.

The contenders had to battle it out to earn the votes of some 1,200 delegates.

Bernama reported at a press conference afterwards, Dr Subramaniam said he would continue working with the party president to strive for the well-being of the Indian community, particularly in education, social and economic development.

"We will continue working together towards the transformation initiated by the Prime Minister. And continue providing feedback to unite the Indian community in supporting the Barisan Nasional.

"This will be a crucial four years for MIC in view of the next general election," he said.

Dr Subramaniam also thanked the MIC grass roots for placing their trust in him to help strengthen the party leadership and continue the struggles for the Indian community.

The result was announced at 8 pm by MIC President Datuk Seri G. Palanivel after no other nominations were received until the end of the process at 6 pm.

The news was received with thunderous applause by an estimated 1,500 supporters and delegates who had waited since noon.

This is the first time Dr Subramaniam, who is also the Health Minister, has contested for the title even though he was elected to the post in 2009.

Meanwhile, Sivarraajh said he was not happy with the majority he had obtained. Nevertheless, he was thankful to the delegates who gave him the mandate to lead the Youth team.

Also thanking MIC president Datuk Seri G. Palanivel, the special officer to the Perak menteri besar, said his victory was due to his hard work and contributions to the youth, and fighting for the betterment of the wing.

"This shows the thinking perception of the youth delegates has changed despite the pressures they face. We will fully utilise this mandate to bring a new wave of change, according to our underlined agenda," he told reporters after he was announced the new Youth chief.

Sivarraajh said his first agenda was to change the public perception of the party, establish the MIC Youth Lab at all parliamentary constituencies and efficiently address problems on the ground.

Describing Mugilan as one who would always be his friend, the new Youth chief said he would need him to strengthen the wing.

"Mugilan has a great ability and potential to contribute further to the betterment of the Indian youth and society," he noted.

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.