PKR's new line-up for Sabah announced

PKR's new line-up for Sabah announced
Datuk Lajim Ukin

KOTA KINABALU - Sabah PKR chief Datuk Lajim Ukin announced the new state line-up with all elected representatives represented in key positions. The naming comes amid talk of likely defections from the party.

Lajim named Api Api representative Christina Liew as deputy state PKR chairman, and Dr Roland Chai (Inanam) and Jelani Hamdan (Matunggong) as two of the three vice-chairmen.

Moyog assemblyman Terence Siambun was appointed treasurer in the 43-member state liaison committee while Kadamaian assemblyman Jeremy Majalad was made information chief.

Lajim, who is Kiulu assemblyman, said unity among the party's seven assemblymen and Penampang MP Darrel Leiking "is intact", adding that all were working together in the interest of the party and Pakatan Rakyat.

"We are together. There are no problems," he said, adding that Wilfred Bumburing, who won the Tamparuli state seat on a PKR ticket, had yet to indicate whether he wanted to join PKR.

On the absence of the Kadamaian assemblyman at the announcement, he said Majalad told him that he accepted the appointment as information chief but could not attend the event as he had work to do in his constituency.

"He (Majalad) told me that he is still with PKR," Lajim said, in reference to speculation that certain Barisan Nasional parties had approached Majalad to cross over.

At least five elected representatives were alleged to have taken a stand against the latest change in leadership at the state level but all have since distanced themselves from such claims.

The restive mood in the party comes at a time when DAP's Luyang assemblyman Hiew King Cheu is posturing to leave the party.

He quit as Sabah DAP adviser after a fallout with party colleagues earlier this month.

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.