60 schools to get new heads next year; experienced principals for heartland schools

60 schools to get new heads next year; experienced principals for heartland schools

Of the principals who will formally take up their new positions on Dec 27, 25 are newly appointed ones, said the Ministry of Education (MOE), which announced the yearly reshuffle of school heads on Friday.

Get the full story from The Straits Times.

Here is the full statement from the MOE:

The Ministry of Education (MOE) will be appointing 60 Principals at the Appointment and Appreciation Ceremony for Principals which will be held on 27 December 2013. Of these, 25 are newly-appointed Principals.

Principals are key to shaping and strengthening the traditions and ethos of our schools. They lead and inspire teachers, and work with parents and the community to provide our students with the opportunities to discover their strengths and pursue their passions.

The appointment is an important milestone for the 25 newly-appointed Principals as they assume major responsibilities as leaders in education. For the 35 serving Principals and HQ officers who are assuming new appointments, it is an affirmation of MOE's confidence in their abilities to continue guiding our teachers and our young. The process of systematically appointing and rotating Principals allows schools to benefit from the infusion of fresh perspectives and enables experienced Principals to share best practices in support of 'Every School, a Good School'. It also gives the Principals the opportunity to take on new challenges as part of their career development.

Ms Ho Peng, Director-General of Education, will present the Letters of Appointment to the Principals at the Appointment and Appreciation Ceremony. The ceremony will also acknowledge the contributions of retiring Principals and Senior Education Officers from MOE HQ who had formerly served as Principals. Minister for Education, Mr Heng Swee Keat, will grace the ceremony as Guest-of-Honour.

Appointment and posting of principals


Anglo-Chinese Junior College: Ms Chong Choy Hoong Beatrice, current principal of Dunman Secondary School

Millennia Institute: Mrs Tan Wan Yu, current principal of Hong Kah Secondary School

National Junior College: Mr Ang Pow Chew, Deputy Director of MOE's English Language and Literature Curriculum Planning & Development Division

Raffles Institution: Mr Chan Poh Meng, current principal of Victoria JC

Victoria Junior College: Miss Ek Soo Ben, Deputy Director of the Standards and Research Branch at the Academy of Singapore Teachers


Admiralty Secondary School: Mr Toh Thiam Chye, current principal of Damai Secondary School

Assumption Pathway School: Mr Leong Yew Hon Eric, current principal of Coral Primary School

Bukit Batok Secondary School: Miss Chamb Cherk Ing, former principal of Balestier Hill Secondary School

Clementi Town Secondary School: Mdm Helen Lee Ching Guan, current principal of Orchid Park Secondary School

Fajar Secondary School: Mdm Tan Siew Hong, current principal of Riverside Secondary School

Hong Kah Secondary School: Mdm Sung Mee Har, current principal of Woodgrove Secondary School

Macpherson Secondary School: Mrs Dolly Ong Kim Leng, current principal of Zhonghua Secondary School

Methodist Girls' School (Primary) / Methodist Girls' School (Secondary): Miss Grace Ng Wun Har, Deputy Director of the Guidance branch in MOE's Student Development Curriculum Division

Orchid Park Secondary School: Mr Shawal Bin Hussin, current principal of Jurongville Secondary School

Singapore Sports School: Mr Tan Teck Hock, current principal of the Physical Education and Sports Teacher Academy

St. Anthony's Canossian Secondary School: Mdm Mak Lai Ying, former principal of Singapore International School (Hong Kong)

Yusof Ishak Secondary School: Mdm Koh Hoon Choo Jessie, current principal of Admiralty Secondary School

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.