Dyslexia students rewarded for outstanding achievements

Dyslexia students rewarded for outstanding achievements

SINGAPORE  -The Dyslexia Association of Singapore (DAS) recognised 10 students with special awards on Saturday and two who were awarded Young Achiever Awards were for the first time presented with monetary prizes with the help of OCBC. 

8 students were awarded with the Special Achievement Awards for their outstanding achievements in terms of academics or expertise, while 2 students were awarded with the Young Achiever Awards for overcoming struggles in school and pressing on to claim admirable accomplishments in life.

The award ceremony was held at Furama Riverfront Hotel, where a cohort of 165 students graduated from DSA. 

Besides the awards, all of these ten students also received the DAS-OCBC Scholarship Award for displaying excellence in academics, sports, arts and other fields.

The DAS-OCBC Award is made possible by the bank's Global Treasury and Investment Banking divisional staff.

This year, besides granting each recipient of the Special Achievement Awards with a $5,000 scholarship, the Award also provided each Young Achiever Awards recipient with a cash of $5,000.

OCBC said aims to assist more DAS students to go further in their learning journey with their expanded funding support.

OCBC Bank's Head of Global Treasury and Investment Banking, Lam Kun Kin, said: "As a corporate citizen, we believe in supporting the growth and development of individuals and businesses in the community that we serve. It is in this spirit that our colleagues have chosen to support DAS. We are privileged to be able to contribute in some way towards the nurturing of these inspiring youth and congratulate all graduates on their outstanding achievements."

The Young Achiever Awards recipients and Special Achievement Awards winners, who are also DAS-OCBC Scholarship winners are namely:

Young Achievers Award

- Zen Heng for excellence in academics and leadership

- Teo Heng Soon for excellence in dance and volunteerism

Special Achievement Award

- Iain Lim for excellence in gymnastics

- Lee Yong Hwee Lexter for excellence in academics

- Hasyna Nusyura Nur Adly for excellence in arts

- Choo Jian Hao for excellence in sports

- Joshua Wee Yu Shuen in robotics and academics

- Drea Lai Jie Ning for excellence in dance, sports and overall

- Darshini Appandai for excellence in dance, academics and overall

- Athens Tan for excellence in sports



More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.