Cricket: India bat in second Test

Cricket: India bat in second Test
South Africa got a boost when Morne Morkel was declared fit to play in Durban.

DURBAN, South Africa- India won the toss and decided to bat in the second and final Test against South Africa at Kingsmead on Thursday.

India made one change following the drawn first Test in Johannesburg, with left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja replacing off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin.

For South Africa, fast bowler Morne Morkel came through a fitness after suffering a sprained ankle in Johannesburg. South African captain Graeme Smith described Morkel's recovery as "a bit of a miracle".

South Africa also made a change of spin bowlers, with left-armer Robin Peterson coming in for leg-spinner Imran Tahir.

The Test will be the last for Jacques Kallis, who announced on Wednesday he will retire from Test cricket at the end of the match. It is his 166th Test match.

Teams: South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Alviro Petersen, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers (wkt), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain, wkt), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami.

Umpires: Steve Davis, Rod Tucker (both AUS). TV umpire: Adrian Holdstock (RSA). Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM).

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.