Cycling: New Zealand win men's team pursuit world title

Cycling: New Zealand win men's team pursuit world title
Members of the New Zealand team (from left) Marc Ryan, Dylan Kennett, Pieter Bulling, and Alex Frame pose after winning the Men's Team Pursuit Final at the UCI Track Cycling World Championships on Feb 19, 2015.

SAINT-QUENTIN-EN-YVELINES, France - New Zealand upset Britain to win their first ever men's team pursuit title at the World Track Cycling Championships on Thursday.

The quartet of Pieter Bulling, Dylan Kennett, Alex Frame and Marc Ryan put in a storming last kilometre to win in 3min 54.088sec.

Having started the slower, Britain's foursome of Olympic champions Edward Clancy and Steve Burke, alongside Owain Doull and Andrew Tennant, had moved into the lead soon after the halfway point of the 4km race but they couldn't withstand New Zealand's fierce comeback.

It was only the second time since 2001 that neither Australia nor Britain had won this event.

The 2014 champions, and four-time winners in the last five years, Australia caught Germany to take the bronze medal at the national velodrome in Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, near Paris.

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.