FIFA World Cup lineup finalized

FIFA World Cup lineup finalized

MONTEVIDEO, Uruguay - The final lineup of teams for next year's FIFA World Cup in Brazil was decided Wednesday, with two-time champion Uruguay claiming the 32nd and final berth by tying Jordan 0-0 in the South American-Asian playoff.

The 2014 event will feature all eight nations that have previously won the title.

The World Cup will kick off June 12 in Sao Paulo, with 64 games to be held in 12 cities through July 13. Rio de Janeiro's Maracana stadium will host the final game.

Brazil will be hosting its second football World Cup, following the first in 1950. A five-time winner with its latest victory coming in the 2002 tournament cohosted by Japan and South Korea, Brazil aims to be crowned world champion for the first time at home.

The draw into eight groups will take place Dec. 6 just outside of Salvador.

Led by Italian coach Alberto Zaccheroni, Japan's national football team secured a World Cup berth for the fifth consecutive time in June, becoming the first nation to win a ticket to the 2014 event. The team advanced to the Round of 16 at the last World Cup in South Africa. It also reached the top 16 in 2002.

During its tour of Belgium this month, the Samurai Blue tied the Netherlands 2-2 on Saturday and then defeated Belgium 3-2 on Tuesday.

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Most Read

Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.