Madras crowned T20 champions

Madras crowned T20 champions

India's Madras Cricket Club were crowned T20 champions for the first time at the Padang on Aug 24 during the fourth annual tournament hosted by the Singapore Cricket Club (SCC).

The blue army kept their cool over two-time champions and rivals Sri Lanka's Sinhalese Sports Club, managing to defend their par score of 147 runs, winning comfortably by 23 runs in the end.

This was courtesy of good medium-pace bowling in overcast conditions that helped the International stars, former Test and ODI player Lakshmipathy Balaji who took four wickets and Rajasthan Royals' Rajat Bhatia who conceded a mere 15 runs off his allotted four overs.

Clubs from as far as Australia, South Africa and Hong Kong competed for the coveted title, with South Africa and Australia winning the Most Sixes scored, Best Catch and Best Batman awards.

On Aug 23, star-studded cricketers - England wicket-keeper batsman Matt Prior and India's Virender Sehwag - shared their prowess with youngsters.

Sehwag, who is most famous for his explosive opening batting skills, was tame as he gently tapped a few deliveries with ease over the ropes.

Not to keep the chosen 11 fielders out of the action, he occasionally gave a few practice catches of which some went down, while others later boasted about how they caught him out.

It was a bittersweet weekend for SCC as club president Michael Grice died that night after the dinner.

"Michael had spoken with his usual passion to fellow sportsmen and women attending the tournament dinner and the final continued with a mark of respect for him," said an SCC member.

At the event, SCC chairman of the games control board Ravi Chandran thanked sponsors, the organising committee, volunteers and staff for making it a success.

Get a copy of tabla! for more stories.

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.