Malaysia beat S'pore for cricket title

Malaysia beat S'pore for cricket title

Malaysia beat Singapore by 57 runs to claim the International Cricket Council's World Cricket League Division Four title at Kallang yesterday.

The visitors scored 235-7 in 50 overs and then bowled out Singapore for 178 in 46.1 overs, with Chaminda Ruwan scoring 54. Both teams on Friday qualified for the WCL Division Three.


At Kallang: Malaysia 235-7 in 50 overs (K. Hayat 63, A. Arudin 43, A. Faiz 33; C. Janik 2-46). Singapore 178 in 47 overs (C. Kumarage, 54 R. Gaznavi 27; S. Fetri 3-31, H. Ghulam 2-18, P. Singh 2-41).

3rd-place play-off at Singapore Cricket Club: Denmark 275-9 in 50 overs (Z. Khan 54, H. Shah 52, Z. Shah 49, M. Pedersen 43; D. Marage 4-33, V. Pennazza 3-44). Italy 240-9 in 50 overs (A. Bonora 56, M. Raso 52, G. Munasinghe 42; Bashir Shah 3-33, A. Ahmed 2-26, A. Bulow 2-42). Denmark win by 35 runs.

5th-place playoff at Indian Association: Oman 246 in 49 overs (J. Singh 90; Nat Watkins 3-43, C. Perchard 3-34). Jersey 210 in 45.3 overs (E. Farley 55, P. Gough 50; A. Lalcheta 3-30, M. Ansari 3-44). Oman win by 36 runs.

This article was first published on June 29, 2014.
Get The New Paper for more stories.

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.