Protectors sweep top honours at S-League Awards

Protectors sweep top honours at S-League Awards
Home United trio (from right) Sirina Camara, Lee Lim Saeng and Lee Kwan Woo are the big winners at S-League Awards ceremony held at the Institute of Technical Education (ITE) College East on 10 November 2013.

Home United completed a cup double last Friday when the senior and prime league teams won the RHB Singapore Cup and Singapore Pools FA Cup respectively.

On Sunday, at the S-League Awards ceremony at ITE College East, the club had more reasons to celebrate.

The Protectors swept the top three honours for the evening, winning the Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year and Coach of the Year awards.

South Korean playmaker Lee Kwan Woo, who joined the club as a marquee signing in January, surprised few when he took home the Player of the Year trophy.

The 35-year-old former K-League star was instrumental in Home's second-placed finish this season.

He also inspired his side to a 4-1 cup final win over Tanjong Pagar last Friday, creating two goals and scoring one.

Sirina Camara won the Young Player of the Year award for his consistent performances in the heart of Home's defence.

Perhaps, slightly surprising was Home's Lee Lim Saeng winning in the Coach of the Year category.

The South Korean, who joined the club in 2010, edged out favourite Darren Stewart of Balestier, Salim Moin of Woodlands, and Tanjong Pagar's Patrick Vallee.


"This award was not only because of my work; I have to thank my players for this as well," said an emotional and teary-eyed Lee after receiving the accolade.

"I'm so happy to see Lee and Sirina win. Everyone in the team has been improved this season.

"I hope we keep going strong next year."

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Most Read

Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.