News @ AsiaOne

357 new teachers graduate

They received their diplomas at the NIE Teachers' Investiture Ceremony yesterday. -AsiaOne

Thu, Jan 21, 2010

357 newly qualified teachers received their National Institute of Education (NIE) diplomas at the NIE Teachers' Investiture Ceremony yesterday, held at the Nanyang Auditorium in Nanyang Technological University (NTU).

Ms Grace Fu, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of National Development and Ministry of Education presented the diplomas to the eager graduates.

Out of the 357 graduates, 315 of them received their Postgraduate Diploma in Education (Secondary) while the rest received their Postgraduate Diploma in Education (Primary), Bachelor of Arts (Education), Bachelor of Science (Education) and Diploma in Education.

Mr Ho Wing Leong, who received his Postgraduate Diploma in Education (Secondary), is a father of two school-going children. He decided to join the teaching profession after years of experience in the transportation industry because he believes his work experiences will provide a more holistic education experience for his students.

Miss Vaz Cecilia Anne A, also received her Postgraduate Diploma in Education (Secondary). She was a military officer and decided to take a pay cut to become a teacher because it had always been her lifelong dream to teach.

Apart from the NIE diplomas, several special prizes and awards were also given out.

Mr Harman Dev Singh Johll received 2 special awards: the Singapore Teachers' Union Book Prize awarded for best performance in the Postgraduate Diploma in Education (Secondary); and the Singapore Association for the Advancement of Science Prize awarded for best performance in the teaching of a science subject.

Mr Johni Masli also received the Association of Mathematics Educators Book Prize, awarded for best performance in the teaching of Mathematics.

The Justice Choor Singh Gold Medal, History Association of Singapore Book Prize and the London Chamber of Commerce and Industry Prize were awarded to Mr Ng Zhaoyue, Ms Carol Ann Martin and Mr Tony Neo Guo Wei respectively.

Copyright ©2010 Singapore Press Holdings Ltd. Co. Regn. No. 198402868E. All rights reserved.
Privacy Statement Conditions of Access Advertise