Countdown for 2014 MAMA begins

Countdown for 2014 MAMA begins
Captured image from the teaser video of 2014 MAMA.

The production crew of the 2014 Mnet Asian Music Awards has revealed the list of candidates for its various awards such as Rookie of the Year award and Song of the Year award on their official home page Monday.

MAMA is one of the major K-pop music award ceremonies held annually by CJ E&M through its music channel Mnet. Participants include some of the best-known actors and celebrities, not only in South Korea, but also in other countries such as China, Japan and the US

The nominees for Rookie of the Year award include JYP's GOT7, Park Boram, YG's brother and sister duo AKMU (Akdong Musician), YG's WINNER and Eddy Kim.

Roy Kim, Rain, Seo Taiji, Im Chang-jung, and Taeyang appeared on the list for Best Male Singer of the Year and Sunmi, IU, Aliee, HyunA, and Hyorin were on the list for Best Female Singer of the Year.

For Best Boy Group of the Year, Block B, BEAST, Super Junior, EXO and B1A4 were nominated, while for Best Girl Group of the Year, the contenders are SNSD, Girl's Day, Sistar, Apink and 2NE1.

Several groups including Girl's Day and Sistar were named in more than one category being nominated for Best Dance Performance Group of the Year. TVXQ, BTS, VIXX, EXO, Infinite, MissA, and 4Minute also appeared on the list.

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.