Park's new single tops Korean charts

Park's new single tops Korean charts
Park Hyo-Shin

SEOUL - South Korean singer Park Hyo Shin - known for the song Snow Flower from 2004's hit drama series I'm Sorry, I Love You - has topped major Korean music charts with a new single, Shine Your Light.

Released at midnight on Monday, the song dominated more than six major music streaming sites, including Melon, Genie, Soribada, and Bugs Music, replacing Miss A's Only You at No. 1 and overtaking current chart favourites such as EXO's Call Me Baby, and Lee Moon Sae and Naul's Spring Breeze.

The new song follows Park's latest singles, Wild Flower and Happy Together, which were released last March and November respectively.

Shine Your Light is the product of a two-year collaboration with vocalist Andy Platts from the London-based electric groove band Mamas Gun, featuring a British vintage pop style that has not been previously attempted by Park.

The song brings together 1970s drum beats, strings and vintage guitars with his signature deep, woeful vocals to create a mellow, dream-like sound.

The lyrics are a "sweet confession of love" and "message of thanks to fans who have loved his music", according to the singer's official website.

Park, 33, is widely acknowledged as one of South Korea's greatest vocal talents.

Besides the heartwrenching ballad Snow Flower, another of his past hits is Good Person.

The music video for Shine Your Light will be released this Saturday.

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.