16 organisations, individuals recognised for green efforts at annual awards

16 organisations, individuals recognised for green efforts at annual awards

SINGAPORE - Sixteen organisations and individuals were rewarded today for their commitment and achievements to green their work processes at the annual Energy Efficiency National Partnership (EENP) Awards ceremony.

The recipients this year come from a wide range of industries, including petrochemcials, pharmaceuticals, printing, as well as marine and civil engineering.

They were selected based on their excellence in driving industrial energy efficiency and leveraging best practices, while achieving significant energy savings.

The three categories for the Awards are: Excellence in Energy Management, which recognises companies that have demonstrated a high level of commitment to excellence in energy management; Best Practices, which recognises corporate teams whose implementation of energy efficiency projects have led to improvements in the energy performance of their facilities; and Outstanding Energy Manager of the Year, which recognises those who played an instrumental role in promoting energy efficiency initiatives within the organisation.

Public agencies are recognised separately, under Best Energy Efficiency Practices in the Public Sector.

Four firms were lauded awards from the first category for excellence in energy management: Abbott Manufacturing Singapore, City Developments Limited, HSL Constructor and Shell Eastern Petroluem.

For the Best Practices category, five projects by the following firms were awarded: Steel recycler NatSteel Holdings, Tien Wah Press, German Centre for Industry and Trade, United Microelectronics Corporation, and a joint application by Micron Semiconductor Asia and Singapore Oxygen Air Liquide.

Three energy managers, including Mr Wong Tat Choon from Singapore Press Holdings Production Division, were given awards for demonstrating leadership in driving energy efficiency improvements.

The four public sector agencies that were awarded for commitment to energy management efforts are Housing Development Board, as well as three schools: Punggol Primary School, Sembawang Secondary School and Innova Junior College.

The award recipients received their trophies from Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister for Environment and Water Resources, at the Devan Nair Institute for Employment and Employability in Jurong.

The EENP Awards are jointly organised by the National Environment Agency (NEA), the Economic Development Board and the Energy Market Authority.

During the event, Dr Balakrishnan also announced that more than $1 million has been set aside to train and develop about 300 professionals, managers and executives in energy management over the next two years.

The two initiatives, the Singapore Certified Energy Manager and Energy Efficiency (Monitoring, Analysis, Planning and Solutions) programmes, will be subsidised by NTUC's Employment and Employability Institute (e2i).


More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.