A*STAR awards new cohort of scholars, one from poly

SINGAPORE - A new cohort of scholars and fellows will start at the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR).

They add to Singapore's vibrant pool of scientific talent as they were presented this year's scholarships at the Scholarship Awards Ceremony held today. Mr Heng Swee Keat, Minister for Education, was the Guest-of-Honour.

The recipients of the 2015 A*STAR scholarships are Mr U S Vaitesswar with the A*STAR Undergraduate Scholarship, Mr Muhd Nadzim Bin Ramli with the A*STAR Graduate Scholarship, Mr Yeo Zhiquan with the A*STAR Graduate Scholarship, Ms Leow Yi Ning with the National Science Scholarship (who is also the first person to receive this particular scholarship right out of a polytechnic), and Ms Siti Nurnadhirah Binte Mohd Ikhsan with the National Science Scholarship.

To date, A*STAR has nurtured more than 1,400 Singaporean PhD talents through its suite of scholarships and fellowships since 2001. Of these, 470 scholars and fellows have completed their PhD studies or postdoctoral training and are contributing to Singapore's R&D ecosystem in diverse ways.

The scholarships provide opportunities for deserving young individuals to pursue their passion in science and to master the necessary skills and training for a career in research and development (R&D).

Mr Lim Chuan Poh, Chairman of A*STAR, said, "Our scholars are well-poised to become future leaders in Singapore's research and innovation landscape as they continually develop their scientific expertise and carry out world-class R&D that is of value to industry and society."


More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.