Leadership change at National Solidarity Party

Leadership change at National Solidarity Party
BEFORE: (From left) Mr Tan Lam Siong, Mrs Jeannette Chong-Aruldoss, Ms Nicole Seah and Mr Elson Soh in a picture dated May 26, 2013. The party was in Dakota Crescent as part of their outreach programme.

SINGAPORE - Lawyer Tan Lam Siong, 53, has taken over as secretary-general of the National Solidarity Party (NSP) from Jeannette Chong-Aruldoss.

Mr Tan, who was elected at the party's Central Executive Committee (CEC) elections on Jan 25, was among Mrs Chong-Aruldoss' campaign team during her electoral bid for the Mountbatten SMC seat in 2011.

Business consultant Sebastian Teo, 66, was re-elected to his sixth consecutive term as party president, the top post in the party hierarchy.

Speaking to The New Paper, Mr Teo said the party was not ready to release the full list of CEC members until after the committee had its first meeting on Feb 2.

A source close to the party told TNP that there had been two camps with different ideas on how to bring the party forward: the old guard led by Mr Teo, and a younger set led by Mrs Chong-Aruldoss.

"In a way, the old guard felt they wanted something they were familiar with, and they felt the next general elections would be their last chance at being elected into Parliament," the source said.

Get the full story from The New Paper.

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.