New electoral boundaries announced: 13 SMCs, 16 GRCs

New electoral boundaries announced: 13 SMCs, 16 GRCs
PHOTO: The Straits Times

SINGAPORE - Changes have been made to the boundaries of electoral constituencies ahead of the next general election.

One in six voters, or 16.7 per cent of voters, will find themselves in a new constituency, according to the report of the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee made public on Friday.

This figure is fewer than the 30 per cent of voters affected in the past boundary redelineation ahead of the 2011 General Election.

There are around 2.46 million eligible voters, up from 2.35 million in 2011.

The number of elected Members of Parliament will rise from the current 87 to 89.

There will also be 13 Single-Member Constituencies (SMCs) and 16 Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs), up from the current 12 SMCs and 15 GRCs.

Two SMCs have been absorbed into neighbouring GRCs: Joo Chiat will be part of Marine Parade GRC, while Whampoa will be part of Jalan Besar GRC.

Three new SMCs have been created from larger GRCs: Bukit Batok has been carved out of Jurong GRC, Fengshan out of East Coast GRC, and MacPherson out of Marine Parade GRC.

However, 10 of the existing 12 SMCs remain largely unchanged, with Sengkang West seeing several polling districts moved to neighbouring Ang Mo Kio GRC.

There will also be six four-MP GRCs, up from the current two.

They are Chua Chu Kang GRC, East Coast GRC, Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, and West Coast GRC, as well as new Jalan Besar GRC and Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC.

Jalan Besar GRC is largely made up of the existing Moulmein-Kallang GRC, as well as districts from existing Tanjong Pagar GRC and Whampoa SMC.

Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC is made up of polling districts from the existing Chua Chu Kang GRC and Sembawang GRC that have seen significant population growth in recent years.

There will also be eight five-MP GRCs, down from the current 11.

These eight GRCs are: Aljunied, Bishan-Toa Payoh, Jurong, Marine Parade, Nee Soon, Sembawang, Tampines and Tanjong Pagar GRCs.

Both Aljunied and Tampines GRCs remain unchanged.

Sembawang absorbs districts of neighbouring Nee Soon GRC, while Nee Soon GRC absorbs districts of neighbouring Ang Mo Kio GRC.

Bishan-Toa Payoh and Tanjong Pagar GRCs will incorporate neighbouring districts from Moulmein-Kallang GRC.

Meanwhile, the existing two six-MP GRCs remain: Ang Mo Kio and Pasir Ris-Punggol GRCs.


The Electoral Boundaries Review Committee (EBRC) has submitted its report. When I appointed the Committee two months...

Posted by Lee Hsien Loong on Friday, July 24, 2015

Ang Mo Kio GRC, which is helmed by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, will absorb districts from Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC as well as Sengkang West SMC that have seen population growth from new housing developments in recent years.

The release of the report comes less than two weeks after Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said in reply to questions in Parliament on July 13 that the committee had been formed two months ago.

More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.