Parliament: New batch of Nominated MPs sworn in

Parliament: New batch of Nominated MPs sworn in

SINGAPORE - The newly-appointed batch of nine Nominated Members of Parliament were sworn in on Monday afternoon.

Get the full story from The Straits Times.

New NMPs to be sworn in on Monday published on AsiaOne, Sep 5

SINGAPORE - The new batch of nine Nominated Members of Parliament (NMP) will be sworn in on Monday.

The batch of new NMP includes president of the Society for the Physically Disabled and lawyer Chia Yong Yong; managing director of Teckwah Industrial Corporation Limited and president of the Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Thomas Chua Kee Seng; vice-president of the National Trades Union Congress, Karthikeyan s/o R. Krishnamurthy; co-founder and creative director of the The Thought Collective, Kuik Shiao-Yin; head of the Islamic Community Financial Services of Maybank Singapore, Mohd Ismail bin Hussein; president of the Singapore Board of Architects, Rita Soh Siow Lan; chief and senior consultant at the Changi Sports Medicine Centre and former national sailor, Benedict Tan Chi'-Loong; deputy director of the Centre for Applied Research at SIM University, Randolph Tan Gee Kwang; and vice provost of the National University of Singapore, Tan Tai Yong.

A motion for the Applied Study in Polytechnics and Institute of Technical Education Review (Aspire) report will also be proposed during the Parliament sitting on Monday.

The Aspire committee is calling for a structured apprenticeship model to help polytechnic and ITE students access more training and career pathways.

The Road Traffic (Amendment) Bill will also be debated on Monday. If passed, it will become illegal for anyone to hold their mobile phones or tablets while driving.


More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.