Top civilian honour bestowed upon ex-minister Dhanabalan

Top civilian honour bestowed upon ex-minister Dhanabalan
Mr S Dhanabalan (right) receives the Order of Temasek (First Class) from President Tony Tan at the National Day Investiture 2015 ceremony held at the National University of Singapore University Cultural Centre on November 8, 2015.
PHOTO: The Straits Times

FORMER Cabinet minister S. Dhanabalan was conferred Singapore's top civilian honour, the Order of Temasek (First Class), for his contributions to the country's success and prosperity.

The former Temasek Holdings chairman was among 450 people who received their awards from President Tony Tan Keng Yam at the National Day Awards investiture yesterday, held at the University Cultural Centre.

This year's awards, which come on the 50th year of Singapore's independence, recognised the hard work and dedication of its pioneers and those who made outstanding contributions to nation-building.

Mr Dhanabalan, 78, was commended for his stellar contributions as a leader and mentor to the community, businesses and in the Government throughout much of Singapore's independence.

In Singapore's initial years, he was in a select group of pioneers driving its economic strategies. Later, he steered Temasek Holdings through a period of global volatility as its chairman from 1996 to 2013.

He was in the Cabinet for close to 17 years, starting in 1976.

He retired from politics in September 1992 but returned three months later to be the Minister of Trade and Industry for a year when Singapore's two deputy prime ministers were diagnosed with cancer.

Mr Dhanabalan helmed a wide array of ministries that included foreign affairs, culture, community development, national development as well as trade and industry.

He is only the eighth individual to be conferred the Order of Temasek (First Class). Most recently, former president S R Nathan received the award in 2013.

The Commendation Medal was awarded to 16 teachers, guides and instructors for their actions during the Sabah earthquake in June.

They guided the Tanjong Katong Primary School pupils on Mount Kinabalu under their care to safety.

Five of them lost their lives: teachers Mohammad Ghazi Mohamed and Terrence Sebastian Loo, guide Muhammad Daanish Amran as well as two Malaysian trainers Ricky Masirin and Valerian Joannes.

Their family members received the posthumous awards.

The citation for the group said: "Their actions under difficult circumstances exemplify the spirit of educators."

Get MyPaper for more stories.

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.