Two new judicial commissioners appointed

Two new judicial commissioners appointed
Allen & Gledhill managing partner Lee Kim Shin (above) and Mr Tan Siong Thye, the former chief district judge, have been appointed judicial commissioners for a year.

The Chief District Judge and a corporate lawyer have been appointed judicial commissioners of the Supreme Court for a term of one year.

Mr Tan Siong Thye, 59, who helmed the Subordinate Courts, started his term on Oct 1 and Mr Lee Kim Shin, 53, a managing partner at law firm Allen & Gledhill, starts on Jan 2 next year.

With these appointments, the Supreme Court will have 15 judges, including Chief Justice Sundaresh Menon, and five judicial commissioners.

Judicial commissioners have the same powers and functions as Supreme Court judges, but are appointed for a specific period.

They were first introduced in 1986 to get senior lawyers in private practice on the Bench, to help clear the backlog of Supreme Court cases.

Judicial commissioners can be made full judges, who can remain on the Supreme Court's bench until they are 65 years old.

Mr Tan was called to the Bar in Singapore in 1982 and started off his legal career as a deputy public prosecutor in the Attorney-General's Chambers.

He was also the director of the Commercial Affairs Department from 1999 to 2008.

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.