New Canadian sanctions over Ukranian crisis

New Canadian sanctions over Ukranian crisis

OTTAWA - The Canadian government of Prime Minister Stephen Harper has added 14 individuals to a list of people facing economic sanctions and travel bans related to the Ukranian crisis.

"Russia's illegal occupation of the Crimean peninsula and provocative military activity remains a serious concern to Canada and the international community," Harper said in a statement Friday.

This brings to 43 the number of Russian targeted by Canada in sanctions coordinated with the US and the EU. Thirty pro-Russian Ukrainians have also been hit with visa bans and other measures by Ottawa.

The announcement was made on the day that Minister for International Trade Ed Fast concluded a three-day trade and development mission to Ukraine.

Harper said Canada supports Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko's peace plan "and we will continue to apply pressure against Russia with our allies and partners. We continue to closely monitor the situation and we are ready for further actions if necessary."


More about

Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.