Recent winners of Nobel Medicine Prize

Recent winners of Nobel Medicine Prize
Norwegian scientists May-Britt and Edvard Moser smile when they receive the Fernstrom award in Lund in this September 22, 2008 file photo.

STOCKHOLM - Here is a list of the winners of the Nobel Medicine Prize over the past 10 years, following the latest award on Monday: 2014: John O'Keefe (Britain, US), Edvard Moser and May-Britt Moser (Norway) for discovering how the brain navigates with an "inner GPS".

2013: James E. Rothman, Randy W. Schekman and Thomas C. Suedhof (US) for work on how the cell organises its transport system.

2012: Shinya Yamanaka (Japan) and John B. Gurdon (Britain) for discoveries in cell programming.

2011: Bruce Beutler (US), Jules Hoffmann (France) and Ralph Steinman (Canada) for work on innate immunity.

2010: Robert G. Edwards (Britain) for the development of in vitro fertilisation.

2009: Carol Greider and Jack Szostak (US), Elizabeth Blackburn (Australia-US) for work on how chromosomes are protected.

2008: Francoise Barre-Sinoussi and Luc Montagnier (France), Harald zur Hausen (Germany) for work on viruses causing cervical cancer and the discovery of human immunodeficiency virus.

2007: Mario Capecchi (US), Oliver Smithies (US), and Martin Evans (Britain) for work on gene modifications in mice using embryonic stem cells.

2006: Andrew Z. Fire (US), Craig C. Mello (US) for their discovery of RNA interference.

2005: Barry J. Marshall (Australia), J. Robin Warren (Australia) for their discovery of the bacterium Helicobacter pylori and its role in gastritis and peptic ulcer disease.

More about

nobel prize
Purchase this article for republication.



Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.