20 builders to win record 31 BCA awards

20 builders to win record 31 BCA awards
PHOTO: 20 builders to win record 31 BCA awards

SINGAPORE - Twenty builders in Singapore will receive a record high of 31 awards for their work from the Building and Construction Authority (BCA).

This year's Construction Excellence Awards recognise their project management, technical capability, innovations, productivity, and workmanship of their completed projects, based on three stages of assessment.

The BCA said the record number of awards given out reflects a "significant improvement" in quality and workmanship standards over the years.

The awards were inaugurated in 1986.

The key judging criteria for the award have not changed, but the BCA noted that more builders are emphasising productivity and excellent site management in their projects these days.

An award was given to Shizumu Corporation for its work on the graduate residences at the National University of Singapore University Town.

The builder had combined vertical and horizontal precast facade elements into one component for easier installation, which made for a higher-quality finish that eliminates the risk of potential water seepage into the joints.

Tiong Seng Contractors Pte Ltd, which won an award for its construction of Shelford Suites, was commended for its use of drywall and prefabricated components for its projects.

Its managing director Pek Lian Guan said: "Productive technologies such as precast and integrated formwork system offer not only speedier construction with fewer workers, but also quality finishes with better control."

Tan Tian Chong, group director for technology development at BCA and a member of the assessment committee, said: "We're glad to note that more developers, consultants and builders are embracing both high quality and productivity in their projects."

The 18 awards and 13 certificates of merit will be handed out in a ceremony planned for May 16.

Get The Business Times for more stories.

This website is best viewed using the latest versions of web browsers.