Malaysia elections: Opposition wave fails to win Sabah

KOTA KINABALU - An "ini kali lah" opposition wave failed to loosen Barisan Nasional's grip on Sabah when it secured 48 of the 60 state and 22 of 25 parliamentary seats.

However, the wave in predominantly Kadazandusun and Chinese areas gave Pakatan Rakyat three parliamentary and 10 state seats.

The opposition also took Bingkor where Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan of STAR won.

For the first time in Sabah, PKR managed to secure a parliamentary and seven state seats while DAP doubled its parliamentary seats to two and four state seats.

In a shocking outcome, Upko chief Tan Sri Bernard Dompok, who was Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister, lost his Kadazandusun heartland seat of Penampang to PKR newcomer Darell Leiking with a majority of 10, 216 votes.

Dompok's political secretary Philip Lasimbang also fell to another newcomer in the Moyog seat to PKR's Terence Siambun while PKR's Jeremy Malajad dislodged PBS' incumbent Datuk Herbert Timbun Lagadan from the Kadamaian seat.

Former Umno supreme council member Datuk Lajim Ukin won the Klias state seat for PKR by a 179 majority while former Upko deputy president Datuk Wilfred Bumburing defended Tamparuli under a PKR ticket, with PKR's Roland Chia defeating Joseph Paulus of PBS in Inanam.

The Matunggong state seat was taken by PKR's Jelani Hamdan from Sarapin Magana of PBS.

Liberal Democratic Party president Datuk V.K. Liew failed to defend the Chinese majority seat, losing to DAP's Wong Tien Fatt.

PBS deputy president Datuk Dr Yee Moh Chai, a deputy Chief Minister, also lost the Chinese seat of Api Api to PKR's Wanita leader Christina Liew under the Kota Kinabalu parliamentary seat won by Sabah DAP head Jimmy Wong.

DAP's Dr Edwin Bosie knocked out Sabah MCA chief Datuk Edward Khoo in the Kapayan state seat while Hiew King Cheu of DAP managed to win the Luyang seat where Sabah MCA Wanita chief Datuk Agnes Shim with two others contested.

PBS president Tan Sri Joseph Pairin Kitingan defeated his younger brother Dr Jeffrey in the Keningau parliamentary seat.Gerakan's Datuk Raymond Tan and Au Kam Wah retained Tanjung Papar and Elopura seats respectively.

Local-based Sabah Progressive Party led by former chief minister Datuk Yong Teck Lee was wiped out losing all the 41 state and eight parliamentary seats contested with Yong beaten by DAP's Youth leader Junz Wong in Likas state seat.

Apart from Bingkor, Dr Jeffrey's STAR candidates lost all 48 state and 21 parliamentary seats it contested. Except for the Klias state seat, Sabah Umno retained all its 134 parliamentary and 31 of 32 state seats it contested.

Become a fan on Facebook