Former Thai DPM Suthep, eight other Democrat MPs resign

Suthep Thaugsuban (C), a former deputy prime minister, leads a protest with other members of the Democrat Party as they march towards central Bangkok November 4, 2013.

BANGKOK - Suthep Thaugsuban announced Monday evening that he and eight other Democrat MPs decided to resign as MPs to fight alongside with the people against the "evil government".

He made the announcement on the rally stage at the Democracy Monument at 6:40 pm.

The eight other MPs are Thavorn Senniem, Satit Wongnongtaey, Witthaya Kaewparadai, Issara Somchai, Chumphon Junsai, Puttipong Kunnakan, Ekkanat Promphan, and Natthapol Theepsuwan.

Suthep said the resignation took effect immediately and he and the MPs would submit their official resignations Tuesday.

Suthep made the announcement after the deadline for the government to terminate the amnesty bill by 6 pm has expired.

Suthep opened the so-called "the people's court" to try the Yingluck government.

He then asked the people for a resolution whether to keep on fighting against the government and the protesters applauded and cheered as a Yes answer.

As part of the fight, Suthep called for all people to stop working on November 13, 14 and 15 and called on students and lecturers to halt all classes.