Cricket: Australia win toss, bat in T20 against England

HOBART, Australia - Australia won the toss and chose to bat in their opening Twenty20 international against England in Hobart on Wednesday.

Leg-spinner James Muirhead, who has played just two first-class and five T20 games, will make his international debut for Australia and batsman Chris Lynn will also make his first appearance.

Australia are fielding an under-strength side following the departure of the national team to South Africa, with all-rounder Moises Henriques to join the Test squad in the republic after the Hobart match.

England's new-look top three for this format have all been playing in Australia's Big Bash League while Joe Root will bat in the middle order.

Ben Stokes was left out despite an impressive one-day series against Australia, while left-arm spinner Danny Briggs is preferred to James Tredwell. England lost the Ashes series 5-0 and the one-day series 4-1 to Australia.


Australia - George Bailey (capt), Aaron Finch, Cameron White, Glenn Maxwell, Chris Lynn, Daniel Christian, Moises Henriques, Matthew Wade, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Josh Hazlewood, James Muirhead.

England - Stuart Broad (capt), Michael Lumb, Alex Hales, Luke Wright, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Jos Buttler, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Jade Dernbach, Danny Briggs.

Umpires: Simon Fry (AUS), John Ward (AUS) Third Umpire: Paul Wilson (AUS) Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)