Cycling: Vogel downs Zhong for women's sprint title

CALI, Colombia - Germany's Kristina Vogel won the women's individual sprint at the track cycling World Championships on Saturday, beating China's Zhong Tianshi in the final for her second title of the week.

The 23-year-old Vogel, who teamed with Miriam Welte for the team sprint crown on the opening day of competition on Wednesday, dominated Zhong to win the final in two heats.

She became the first German woman to win the prestigious title since 1986, when East Germany's Christa Rothenburger - who first made her sporting name as a speed skater - triumphed.

China's Lin Junhong earned bronze, beating Great Britain's Jessica Varnish 2-0 in the third-place race.

Vogel improved on the individual sprint silver she won at last year's worlds behind Great Britain's Becky James, who was ousted in the quarter-finals on Friday.

Australian Anna Meares, the reigning Olympic champion, was also eliminated in the quarter-finals.

With silver, Zhong matched the feat of compatriot Guo Shuang, who was the sprint runner-up in 2007 and 2010.

This year's edition marked the first time that China had two women on the podium.

Rising Australian star Amy Cure captured the first world title of her career with a victory in the women's points race.

Cure, 21, edged Germany's Stephanie Pohl by three points, with Canadian Jasmin Glaesser earning bronze, six points behind the winner in the 25 kilometer race that featured 10 sprints.

Cure nabbed her second medal of the championships, after taking bronze in the women's team pursuit.

Defending champion Jarmila Machacova of Czech Republic was 15th.

France's Thomas Boudat, who celebrated his 20th birthday on Monday, won the men's omnium title ahead of Tim Veldt of the Netherlands and Russian Viktor Manakov.

Boudat won two of the six races in the multi-discipline event, the equivalent of the decathlon in athletics, in which riders compete in a one-lap flying start time trial, a five km scratch race, an elimination race, a four km individual pursuit, 15 km points race and a one km time trial.

Boudat won the points race and the elimination race, and was second in the scratch race and third in the kilometer.

Defending champion Aaron Gate of New Zealand was shut out of the medals in fourth place.