Golf: Glory for Singapore

WINNERS: Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong (above, third from right) presenting the Zakir Challenge Trophy to Team Singapore captain Terry Ng (fourth from left) and the team which won the Team Nett category at the 31st Asean Senior Golf Tournament on Wednesday.

SINGAPORE - Team Singapore held on to their lead on the final day of the 31st ASEAN Senior Amateur Golf Championship to capture the Zakir Challenge Trophy at the Singapore Island Country Club (SICC) on Wednesday.

The quartet of Dicky Tan, Lam Thi Kai, Tan Ah Lye and Peh Choon Seng entered the final round of the Team Nett competition with a five-shot lead over Thailand.

The team returned a 225 yesterday for a 650 total over three days, pipping the Philippines (651), who rallied with 215 from third place. Singapore's Teo Keow Seng also managed a third-placed finish in the Best Gross Individual category, with a score of 237.

Eduardo Bagtas of the Philippines, who led from Monday, took home the Sallahudin Challenge Trophy after he finished with a 223. Malaysia's Abdul Razak Jamaludin finised second with 234.

Team Singapore's victory aside, the three-day tournament - played on the New and Island courses - was a success, according to the Republic's non-playing captain Terry Ng.

Hosting rights for the regional competition - featuring senior golfers from Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Brunei and the Philippines - is rotated among the six nations annually.

The last time Singapore hosted the event was in 2008.

At last year's championship in Yogyakarta, Indonesia, Singapore bagged the Best Team Gross and Best Nett Individual (Dicky Tan) honours.

Said Ng: "We were hoping for better in the Team Gross, because two of our players are members of SICC, and had homeground advantage.

"But, of course, that doesn't always count for much in golf.

"The guys gave a good effort all around, and we're all pleased that we managed to hang on and win the Team Nett.

"We are already looking forward to next year's tournament (in Oct 2015), especially because it will be held in Chiangmai (Thailand), one of our favourite venues."

The closing ceremony at the SICC yesterday was graced by Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, who presented the trophies to the winners.


Team Nett (handicap under 18):

650: Singapore 651: Philippines

Team Gross (handicap below 12):

726: Philippines 732: Malaysia

Individual Nett:

211: Anwar Idy (Ina) 212: Winud Kerdpakee (Tha) 214: Preecha Boodsri (Tha)

Individual Gross:

223: Eduardo Bagtas (Phi) 234: Abd Razak Jamaludin (Mas) 237: Teo Keow Seng (Sin)

This article was first published on August 21, 2014.
Get The New Paper for more stories.