Last-hole eagle wins it for Lahiri

SINGAPORE - India’s Anirban Lahiri won his fourth Asian Tour title and first outside India with a spectacular eagle putt on the last hole to win the US$750,000 ($940,000) CIMB Niaga Indonesian Masters yesterday.

The 26-year-old Indian, who is getting married next month, survived a gamut of emotions on the final day before breaking away from the chasing pack to seal victory with a four-under 68 at the Royale Jakarta Golf Club, reported

South Korea’s Baek Seuk Hyun enjoyed a stroke of fortune despite carrying an elbow injury, when he finished second alongside Australian rookie Cameron Smith after signing off with a 65.

Reigning Asian Tour Order of Merit winner Kiradech Aphibarnrat of Thailand showed he is inching his way back into the winner’s circle again with a fourth-place finish at the CIMB event, which celebrated yet another successful conclusion to the fourth edition of the prestigious event in Indonesia.


Starting the day trailing Smith by a shot, Lahiri went out quickly by firing three successive birdies from the second hole.

He stumbled with a bogey-five on the fifth hole but recovered with another birdie on 12. However, a double-bogey six on 13 after a lengthy three-hour rain delay saw the Indian ride out a tense finish, as a host of marquee players from the Asian Tour were wrestling for the lead then.

“I had an awkward lie on 13. During the rain delay, I was just thinking that I have to get up and down there,” said Lahiri.

“I got a bad break there but I know Lin Wen-tang dropped a shot as well. Unfortunately I got a double-bogey there, but I am glad I came back strong,”

With Baek holding the clubhouse lead at 16 under, Lahiri knew he had to produce a superlative effort on 18 to get the outright win.

And the Indian did not disappoint and screamed in delight when he watched his 20-foot eagle putt sink into the hole for a winning total of 17-under 271.

FINAL SCORES 271: Anirban Lahiri 70-69-64-68. 272: Baek Seuk Hyun 71-68-68-65, Cameron Smith 68-67-67-70. 273: Kiradech Aphibarnrat 71-69-65-68. 274: Thongchai Jaidee 71-72-67-64, Jazz Janewattananond 68-70-69-67, Lin Wen-tang 70-64-72-68, S.S.P Chowrasia 71-66-69-68. 275: Rashid Khan 70-70-64-71. 276: Chapchai Nirat 68-68-72-68, Bernd Wiesberger 68-71-69-68, Gunn Charoenkul 70-69-67-70. SELECTED 280: Danny Chia 69-73-68-70, Lam Chih Bing 72-68-69-71. 281: Nicholas Fung 67-69-74-71. 287: Mardan Mamat 71-74-72-70. 290: Scott Barr 73-70-73-74.

This article was published on April 28 in The New Paper.

Get The New Paper for more stories.