15 MCA leaders unhappy over lifting of Tee's suspension

Tee Siew Kiong.

KUALA LUMPUR - Fifteen MCA central committee (CC) members have expressed disappointment over the committee's decision to lift the three-year suspension on Datuk Tee Siew Kiong from the party.

They issued a joint statement yesterday to voice their regret.

Tee's suspension came after he accepted the appointment as a Johor state executive councillor after winning the Pulai Sebatang state seat in the May 5 general election.

The acceptance was inconsistent with the party general assembly's decision not to accept any government post if the MCA's performance in the recent general election was worse than that of 2008.

The MCA won a total of 18 seats in the elections against 46 in 2008.

On Thursday, after a CC meeting, the committee decided to overturn the suspension on Tee after he produced a statement from the Johor Palace stating that the appointment was based on the Sultan's decision.

MCA president Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek, who announced the decision after chairing the meeting, said the majority of the CC members felt Tee's suspension should be lifted immediately.

The 15 CC members are: Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, Datuk Donald Lim Siang Chai, Datuk Seri Chor Chee Heung, Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong, Datuk Yu Chok Tow, Datuk Dr Hou Kok Chung, Datuk Wee Jeck Seng, Datuk Toh Chin Yaw, Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan, Lee Wee Kiat, Datuk Hoh Khai Mun, Tan Cheng Liang, Datuk Kong Sing Chua, Datuk Yoo Wei How and Datuk Chua Poh Khiang.

There are 43 CC members, one of whom has died and another is under suspension.