8 individuals including one MP and two assemblymen released over rally


Eight individuals arrested over the #TangkapNajib rally, including one parliamentarian and two assemblymen, were released on Sunday.

Lawyer Gobind Singh Deo said the eight individuals released included Bakri MP Er Teck Hwa, Teja assemblyman Chang Lih Kang, Simpang Pulai assemblyman Tan Kar Hing and Annie Ooi (Auntie Bersih).

Also released was a 14-year-old girl who was arrested with her mother in front of the Sogo Shopping Complex on Saturday.

Altogether 23 men, six women and one girl were detained at the rally.

Gobind said the Magistrate's Court had rejected an application by police to remand the eight individuals under Section 143 of the Penal Code for unlawful assembly.

He added that 21 individuals will be remanded until Monday while one individual will be held in custody until Tuesday.

According to Gobind, the 20-year-old individual to be remanded until Tuesday will also be investigated under Section 8 of the Explosive Act 1957 for possession of explosives under suspicious circumstances.

He said activists Hishamuddin Rais and Fahmi Zainol were released on Sunday, after the Magistrate's Court had rejected an application by police to remand them under Section 124(b) of the Penal Code concerning activities detrimental to parliamentary democracy.

Lawyer Sivamalar Genapathy said police had no grounds to arrest the two activists as they were not part of the press conference held by Demi Malaysia on Thursday on the #TangkapNajib rally.

Sivamalar noted that activist Safwan Anang and Law student Vince Tan will be released on Monday following a two-day remand period.

They were arrested in front of the Sogo shopping complex on Saturday. Lawyers Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan and Eric Paulsen were also present at the Jinjang central lockup on Sunday.