Five new members appointed to Malaysia's parliamentary panel

KUALA LUMPUR - The Committee of Selection has appointed five new members for the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) to replace those who had to relinquish their posts in the recent Cabinet reshuffle.

Datuk Dr Makin @ Marcus Mojigoh (BN - Putatan) will replace Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Datuk Madius Tangau, Datuk Ahmad Hamzah (BN - Jasin) will replace Deputy Tourism and Culture Minister Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin, while Datuk Nawawi Ahmad (BN - Langkawi) will replace Deputy Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Reezal Merican Naina Merican.

Datuk Koh Nai Kwong (BN - Alor Gajah) was also appointed to replace Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Chua Tee Yong, who relinquished the post in June 25, 2014.

Meanwhile, Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan (PAS - Kota Baru) will replace Tumpat MP Datuk Kamarudin Jaafar, who has joined PKR.

Last week, Rompin MP Datuk Hasan Arifin was appointed PAC chairman, replacing Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed, who is now the Deputy Home Minister.