Hadi returned as PAS president for sixth term

PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang.

PETALING JAYA, Malaysia - PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang has been returned unopposed as the party president for a sixth consecutive term.

Hadi, who assumed the post following the death of Datuk Fadzil Mohd Noor in 2002, had never been challenged in the biennial party elections.

He would have faced his first challenger this year had the party's election committee not rejected the candidacy of Padang Serai chief Fauzi Tahir.

PAS' central election committee chairman Asmuni Awi said the nomination was rejected as the nomination paper was incomplete without the names of a proposer and a seconder.

Incumbent deputy president Mohamed Sabu may face a five-cornered fight if four other candidates accept their nominations.

They are Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man, Datuk Husam Musa, Salahuddin Ayub, and Datuk Mohd Amar Nik Abdullah.

Asmuni said 10 nominations for the three vice-president posts have been accepted.

Apart from the incumbents Datuk Husam Musa, Datuk Mahfuz Omar and Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man, other nominees are Youth chief Nasrudin Hassan, Datuk Idris Ahmad, Datuk Abu Bakar Chik, Mohamad Sabu, Datuk Mohd Amar Abdullah, Dr Mujahid Yusof Rawa and Salahuddin Ayub.

For the Youth wing, incumbent Nasrudin Hassan may face Suhaizan Kaiat, Dr Raja Ahmad Iskandar Al Hiss, Kamarulzaman Muhamamd, Zulhaimi Sharif and Riduan Mohd Nor.

Four nominations have also been ap-proved for the top post of the party's women wing.

Party polls will be held on Nov 21 for the wings and Nov 22 for the central leadership.