Malaysia proposes strict screening of govt servants and GLC heads

Malaysia proposes strict screening of govt servants and GLC heads
Committee chairman Tan Sri Abu Zahar Ujang.

KUALA LUMPUR- The Special Committee on Corruption wants to make it compulsory for government servants and chairmen of government-linked companies to undergo stringent screening by the Malaysian Anti Corruption Commission (MACC).

The parliamentary committee in its 2013 report said the appointment of any individual of doubtful integrity would create a bad perception among the people and form a negative impression of the Government.

Committee chairman Tan Sri Abu Zahar Ujang said it was also proposing the formation of an agency, similar to the complaints committee that monitors the MACC, as a "check and balance" mechanism to enhance the effectiveness of the police force.

"Members of this agency must consist of individuals with a high level of integrity and knowledge, and vast experience in law, administration and professional expertise," he said at a press conference in Parliament House yesterday.

He said the MACC and Government were serious about fighting corruption and were doing their best to change public perception of the way graft was handled in the country.

"We are aware that the public still feels that the big fishes are never charged. This is not the case.

"The investigations are done in detail and cannot be hurried because they involve big fishes and we must ensure that the cases are strong.

"There must be hard evidence and facts, as well as investigations without flaw, then no perpetrator can escape," said Abu Zahar, who is also Senate president.

He said the committee also felt that fighting graft should be a necessity instead of an option, with stern action and being non-selective as key principles.

"We believe that the MACC's effectiveness will increase if these proposals are implemented by the Government.

"We also believe Malaysia's standing in the Corruption Perceptions Index will continue to improve if more amendments and provisions to the laws are introduced," he said.

The committee comprises Members of Parliament from Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat. Its other members are Senator Datuk Doris Sophia Anak Brodi (BN), Dr Tan Seng Giaw (DAP-Kepong), Datuk Irmohizam Ibrahim (BN-Kuala Selangor), Datuk Fauzi Abd Rahman (PKR-Indera Mahkota), Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan (PAS- Kota Baru) and Datuk Noraini Ahmad (BN-Parit Sulong).

More about

Purchase this article for republication.
Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy policy and Terms and Conditions.