Malaysian PM's brother Nazir Razak part of country's Economic Special Committee


PUTRAJAYA - Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Senator Datuk Seri Abdul Wahid Omar has been named as chairman of the Economic Special Committee.

Other members in the 10-men committee are Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop, Tan Sri Azman Mokhtar, Tan Sri Andrew Sheng, Tan Sri Azman Yahya, Datuk Seri Nazir Tun Razak, Datuk Seri Dr K. Govindan, Prof Datuk Dr Noor Azlan Ghazali, Datuk Abdul Farid Alias and Datuk Seri Saw Choo Noon.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said that the committee would convene its first meeting next week.

"They are to meet on a weekly basis but if there is a need, the meeting would be held more often.

"The committee is also to report directly to the Prime Minister," he told a press conference here Wednesday.

Najib added that the committee has been told to act fast to address the present economic situation including the slide of ringgit.