MIC to fill three vacant seats for Dewan Negara June meet

Datuk Seri G. Palanivel.

KUALA LUMPUR - The three vacant senate seats belonging to MIC will be filled up in the June meeting of the Dewan Negara, party president Datuk Seri G. Palanivel said.

Palanivel said it was the president's prerogative to decide on suitable candidates for the senate posts.

"Every MIC senator will serve only one three-year term although previously, the senators used to serve two three-year terms," he said.

Palanivel was commenting on a report that the party has yet to fill up three senate posts which became vacant in 2012 and last year.

The three vacant posts were held by Tapah MIC division chairman Datuk Dr S. Malasingam, whose term ended in March 2012, the late Penang MIC chairman Datuk P.K. Subbaiyah, who died a month later and Palanivel, who resigned his senate post to contest the Cameron Highlands parliamentary seat last year.

At present, MIC has three current senators - Datuk V. Subra­maniam @ Barat Maniam, A. Sivabakiam and Datuk Jaspal Singh - who were appointed in 2011 with their term expiring this year.

Several MIC leaders including former youth chief Datuk T. Mohan had called on the party leadership to fill up the senate vacancies as soon as possible as six senators would be better able to raise Indian-related issues.

It was reported that vice-president Datuk S. Sothi­nathan, treasurer-general Datuk S. Murugessan and former deputy Youth chief V. Mugilan have been nominated for three senator posts.

Others in the running include Johor MIC chairman Datuk S. Bala­krishnan, Perak MIC chairman Datuk R. Ganesan, former Youth chief Datuk S.A. Vigneswaran, strategic director Datuk Seri S. Vell Paari and central working committee member Datuk Henry Benedict Asirvatham.

Palanivel said Kedah Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mukriz Mahathir also promised a rotation system for the senate post in the next round for Kedah MIC.