Sarawak polls: Najib's BN wins two-thirds majority

Sarawak Chief Minister Adenan Satem (right) casting his vote at SK Merpati Jepang in Kuching on May 7, 2016.
The Star/Asia News Network

KUCHING, Sarawak - Barisan Nasional has surpassed its target of 70 seats in this 11th state elections.

Team Adenan has unofficially won 72 seats with DAP seven and PKR three.

Barisan won all the bumiputra seats except Ba' kelalan and Krian which were retained by PKR. PKR also retained its Chinese-majority seat of Batu Lintang.

However, DAP lost in five of the 12 seats that it won in the previous elections as well as the new seat of Batu Kitang.

The five seats that it lost are Batu Kawah, Piasau, Dudong, Repok and Meradong.

The biggest victor in this election was SUPP and its president Datuk Dr Sim Kui Hian who beat Batu Kawah incumbent Christina Chiew Wang See of DAP.

Tan Sri Adenan Satem is expected to be sworn in as Sarawak chief minister at 10pm tonight.