Wan Azizah is PKR candidate for Permatang Pauh by-election

Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail

BUKIT MERTAJAM: Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail has been named as the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) candidate for the Permatang Pauh parliamentary by-election.

PKR deputy president Mohamed Azmin Ali made the announcement at the Seberang Perai Arena in the constituency here last night.

The crowd cheered as the 63-year-old PKR president and Kajang assemblyman came on stage.

This is the second foray for her in Permatang Pauh as she won the seat in 1999 before resigning in 2008 to force a by-election for her husband, Anwar to return to Parliament.

The Permatang Pauh seat was declared vacant when incumbent Anwar was disqualified as a Member of Parliament after the Pardons Board rejected a petition for a royal pardon sought by his family over his conviction for sodomising former aide Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan.

Anwar, who is PKR adviser, had won the seat by a majority of 11,721 votes in the May 2013 general election.

He polled 37,090 votes while Mazlan Ismail of Barisan Nasional polled 25,369 votes. Independent candidate Abdullah Zawawi Samsudin got just 201 votes.

The Election Commission has set today for nomination with May 7 as the polling day for the by-election and May 3 for early voting.

Wan Azizah will face local boy, Suhaimi Sabudin who has been named as the candidate for Barisan Nasional

The Election Commission has said that the 2013 voters' list would be used together with the latest list of newly registered voters. The list comprises 71,890 voters, of whom 71,252 are voters, 627 early voters and 11 postal voters.

More about