Many routes to victory for top 2

Double points will be awarded for the first time at the season-ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on Nov 23.

Here are the scenarios that could hand the title to either Lewis Hamilton or Nico Rosberg.

Hamilton currently has 334 points and Rosberg, 317.

The points are normally awarded 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1.

In Abu Dhabi, it will be 50-36-30-24-20-16-12-8-4-2.

Hamilton will be champion if he finishes:

First or second.

Third, fourth or fifth and Rosberg fails to win.

Sixth with Rosberg out of the top two.

Seventh or eighth with Rosberg not in the top three.

Ninth and Rosberg not in the top four.

Tenth (or lower) and Rosberg is no higher than sixth.

Rosberg will be champion if:

He wins and Hamilton is not second.

He finishes second and Hamilton is not in the top five.

He is third and Hamilton is out of the top six.

He is fourth and Hamilton is no higher than ninth.

He is fifth and Hamilton is no higher than 10th.

Rosberg cannot win if he finishes sixth or lower.