S-League: The romantic Khairul Amri - NO PIC

SINGAPORE:

I knew I wanted to be a footballer when...

I was 12 . As soon as I made it to the national U-12 team, I started thinking of seriously pursuing football as my profession.

I started playing football with my friends at the void deck when I was 10. The following year, I went for trials and was selected to join the (now-defunct) Milo Scheme.

I was a reserve player, but during one match, I was fielded at half-time - I scored my first hat trick.

I got my big break at 19 checked in 2004 checked when I was selected to play for the Young Lions checked and then called up to join the national team.

A turning point in my career was...

In late 2010, I sustained a major injury on my left knee and had to go for an operation to reconstruct it. It took me close to a year of rehabilitation to recover fully. It was the toughest time in my life. I became depressed and very frustrated at not being able to play.

My parents, wife and friends stood by me and offered a lot of support. They told me it was not the end, that there are others with worse injuries.

The experience changed me. I decided to not take my health for granted and to take better care of myself, such as sleeping early, taking vitamins and doing warm ups.

Something very few people know about me is...

I will not allow my wife to cut her hair short. She has waist-length hair. She complains at times that it's inconvenient, uncomfortable in hot weather and difficult to maintain, but I won't let her cut it.

A few years ago, she cut it without telling me. I was furious when I came home to see her hair in a short bob.

I didn't talk to her for a few days. I would even remind her not to cut her hair too short whenever she went to the hair salon.

My idea of food heaven and hell...

I love my wife's cooking. My favourite dish of hers is salted egg on steamed prawns. She learnt it from her father.

What I hate most is canned sardines, especially when I have to eat that with rice. I try not to eat that unless I have no choice.

My celebrity crushes are...

Miranda Kerr, Natalie Portman and Scarlett Johansson.

My dream girl is my wife. She's tall at 1.73m. If she puts on heels, she's taller than I am, but I don't mind. She is friendly, sociable, understanding and very supportive towards me.

FAST FACTS

Country: Singapore

Birthday: March 14, 1985

Age: 28

Height: 1.76m

Weight: 68kg

Club: Tampines Rovers FC, joined in January

Position: Striker

Jersey number: 19

Favourite music: R&B and hip hop

Favourite song: When I Was Your Man by Bruno Mars

Best feature: My grin

Ideal romantic getaway: A private island somewhere in Thailand with my wife


Get The New Paper for more stories.

VIDEOS TO WATCH

SERVICES