MPs among seven accused of breaching Peaceful Assembly Act

Pandan MP Rafizi Ramli.

KUALA LUMPUR - Two MPs, four student activists and a PKR secretariat member were charged with breaching the Peaceful Assembly Act 2012 by organising the Black 505 rally at Padang Merbok.

Pandan MP Rafizi Ramli and Seremban MP Anthony Loke Siew Fook, along with student activists Adam Adli Abdul Halim, Muhammad Safwan Anang, Ekhsan Bukharee Badarul Hisham, Mohamed Bukhairy Mohamed Sofian and PKR secretariat member Adib Ishar claimed trial to three different charges at the Sessions Court here on Wednesday.

Rafizi, Loke and Adib faced a primary charge of failure to comply with conditions set out by Dang Wangi OCPD Asst Comm Zainuddin Ahmad requiring them to obtain permission from Kuala Lumpur City Hall for the use of Padang Merbok for the rally.

The offence carries a maximum fine of RM10,000.

The trio face an alternative charge of failure to notify police of the rally 10 days prior to the event which is also punishable by a maximum fine of RM10,000.

DPP Kalmizah Salleh offered bail at RM5,000 with one surety each, which she reduced to RM2,000 after counsel N. Surendran and K.P. Wong argued that the accused did not need bail to be released.

Adam Adli, Muhammad Safwan, Ekhsan Bukharee and Mohamed Bukhairy were charged separately with gathering at a restricted area, the Ar-Rahman mosque at Universiti Malaya, between noon and 1.15pm on June 22.

The offence is punishable with a fine of up to RM20,000.

DPP Ahmad Ishrakh Saad offered personal bonds for all four, which was agreed to by Surendran and Murnie Hidayah Anuar, who represented Adam Adli and the other three accused respectively.

Judge Mat Ghani Abdullah released all seven accused on personal bonds of RM3,000 each without surety for Rafizi, Loke and Adib and RM2,000 each without surety for the others.

He also fixed Oct 7 as trial dates for Rafizi, Loke and Adib and Oct 21 for the others.

Also present in court were PKR adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, party president Datin Seri Wan Azizah, DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang and Seputeh MP Teresa Kok.